Uncategorized

Burundi President Discovers Possibility of Being President for Life Through ‘Constitutional Error’

Trying my hand at satire. Please be gentle 🙂

The Scrutiny

Speaking today in Bujumbura, Burundi president Pierre Nkurunziza said that the revelation had come to him while he was taking a shower.

“You know all this time I thought I could extend my tenure by just one more term, but now I know I can extend it for life,” he said to rapturous applause. “You see, the constitution says that the Head of State can only run for two terms, but my official title is not “Head of State,” but “President.” Therefore, officially, I haven’t been running the country. Next month, I am still running for President, then after the end of that subsequent term I will run as Head of State. That will make me a life president.”

Supporters were elated at the revelation; however, at the announcement, there were fears of more widespread violence in the troubled country, but supporters downplayed these fears. Nicayenzi Miburu, a fervent Nkuruzira supporter…

View original post 37 more words

What do you think? Share your views!

