Personal / Uncategorized

Your Snippet of History

I have always wondered how it would be if I kept my own records about a particular time or period in my own history so I could read all about it at a later date. Wouldn’t it be thrilling to read history from your very own hand? My grandfather comes to mind as I imagine how fascinating it must be to have lived in a time of horse carriages, and to have lived through all the changes up until the present age of the 100 km/h motor vehicle (and Google’s Self-driving Car!). Imagine all the changes you have lived through – vinyl record -> cassette tapes -> CD’s -> MP3 players -> iPods? Imagine if you had written it all down. Imagine if you’d kept your very own snippets of history…

Imagine my excitement when I came across one of my own! While I was perusing through my old email, I found a message that I had sent to my uncle back in Zimbabwe while I was in the US. He had asked me questions about what was going on in the US at the time. Here’s my reply, dated January 29th, 2010 (7 years ago!):

The main frenzy this side is about the Earthquake in Haiti. Also, they are releasing this new thing called an i-pad – a touch-screen note book; in fact, a very big ipod! David Colthart (sic) will be in New York in early Feb to talk about Zim Education. Obama is trying to pass his health care reform bill, and has failed so far… Avatar, a 3D movie that was released recently has earned the highest amount of money in the history of film-making in the world. Scientists at Stanford are making batteries from clothes…and much more…I don’t know which news you would like to hear….I don’t follow music trends that much, but I know Lady Gaga and Black Eyed Peas run the show at the moment…

Interesting, isn’t it?

Do you have any of your own gems? Please share them in the comments! If not, now’s the time to capture your own history for the future ( 😉 ). What’s going on around you now? You never know, you might come back to this blog in 10 years to get a piece of that 2017!

What do you think? Share your views!

